The formation of the parish of St John Paul II, (from the amalgamation of the former parishes of Holy Cross, St Matthew's and St Gilbert's with St Mary's, Eccles), is recent - but the history of the four original parishes is long and varied.

These pages give details of how these parishes formed, and of their current and former church buildings.

Click on the pictures, below, or on the links (left) to access each page.

Holy Cross Church, Patricroft

St Mary's Church, Eccles

St Matthew's

St Matthew's Church, Winton (now closed)

St Gilbert's Church, Brookhouse (now closed)